The Gove Effect & The Reality of Teaching

Leave a comment

June 22, 2013 by lambethteachers

Nelson's Column

When I began teaching as a fresh-faced 24 year old, I thought I’d change the world. A combination of watching ‘Dead Poets Society’ too many times combined with my naive faith that I could make a real difference to a sea of trusting young faces who were, by and large, on board for some learning led to me completing a PGCE and setting my heart on being the best teacher I could possibly be for those children in my care for that little weekly slot of time in which they were mine and expecting to leave the room taking something of value away they hadn’t come in with. And I don’t mean the remote control to the electronic whiteboard. They may be ubiquitous now, but they weren’t common when I began teaching!

I relished this new role and spent all the hours God sent preparing lessons that would engage, working…

View original post 1,591 more words

Leave a Reply

Topics

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 945 other followers

Visitors

Map
